Sunday Reads & Book Review: Adult Fiction White Houses

About the Book For readers of The Paris Wife and The Swans of Fifth Avenue comes a “sensuous, captivating account of a forbidden affair between two women” (People)—Eleanor Roosevelt and “first friend” Lorena Hickok. Lorena Hickok meets Eleanor Roosevelt in 1932 while reporting on Franklin Roosevelt’s first presidential campaign. Having grown up worse than poor in South Dakota and reinvented […]

5 Tips For Kids And Teens Who Want To Invest In Stock

Diagram on a blackboard

  As my daughter gets ready to wrap up her junior year of high school, I often worry about how she is going to do when she is required to “adult”.  We just had a conversation this morning about how to replace the Social Security card she lost, and while it’s hard to not swoop […]

New App Magnus Cards Provides Autism Support

image001

  April is National Autism Awareness Month, and is a good reminder that 1 in 68 children are diagnosed with Autism every year.  It’s a great month to promote awareness and help spread the word about tools that can help children as well as parents of children diagnosed with autism.   For the millions of people […]

Sunday Reads & Book Review: YA Berserker

cover113185-medium

    About the Book A Norse teen and her family are forced to flee to the American West to escape the effects of an ancestral Viking curse in this jaw-dropping fantasy novel from the author of Monument 14. “Berserker is a triumph, introducing a wholly-new breed of Viking superhero.”Alyson Noël, New York Times- bestselling author of […]

RSV: Learn the Signs and Symptoms

RSV Awareness Month Infographic (1)

This post was sponsored as part of an Influencer Activation for Influence Central and all opinions expressed in my post are my own. As fall creeps along here in Western NY, I’ve gotten hit with my yearly fall cold – happens every year like clock work.  It’s always a great reminder to get my flu […]

Weed Out the Confusion: Driving Under the Influence

Young man driving a car

My oldest just turned 16, and driving is a HUGE deal.  I do a lot of educating about drinking and driving, even though I’m pretty sure my daughter isn’t a drinker.  However, a huge issue that is facing teen parents in some places is driving under the influence of marijuana, which is why I’m so […]

How to Get Your Kids Away from Their Devices

Cute little boy in colorful checkered shirt sitting on the sand and taking picture with smart phone using selfie stick

  A common concern for parents today is that our children are spending far too much time glued to tablets, phones, and other screens. They’re missing out on all the fun that comes with being young, having adventures, and playing with toys. Gone are the days where 10-year-olds still enjoyed dolls and puzzles. Now, kids […]