Transitioning to Back to School Time

graphicstock-creative-concept-with-back-to-school-theme_BCZUQIJiZZ

Where did the summer go?? I can’t believe it’s already back to school time! I know some of our readers have kiddos already back in school and my own girls start back in the next couple of weeks.  So what can we as parents do to try and ease the move from summer to school […]

Sunday Reads Book Review: Nemesis (YA)

About the Book The princess didn’t expect to fall in love–with her nemesis. Princess Sepora of Serubel is the last Forger in all the five kingdoms. The spectorium she creates provides energy for all, but now her father has found a way to weaponize it, and his intentions to incite war force her to flee […]

Sunday Reads Book Review: Love and Other Consolation Prizes

About the Book  From the bestselling author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet comes a powerful novel, inspired by a true story, about a boy whose life is transformed at Seattle’s epic 1909 World’s Fair. “An evocative, heartfelt, beautifully crafted story that shines a light on a fascinating, tragic bit of forgotten history.”—Kristin Hannah, […]

Sunday Reads & Book Review: Adult Fiction White Houses

About the Book For readers of The Paris Wife and The Swans of Fifth Avenue comes a “sensuous, captivating account of a forbidden affair between two women” (People)—Eleanor Roosevelt and “first friend” Lorena Hickok. Lorena Hickok meets Eleanor Roosevelt in 1932 while reporting on Franklin Roosevelt’s first presidential campaign. Having grown up worse than poor in South Dakota and reinvented […]

5 Tips For Kids And Teens Who Want To Invest In Stock

Diagram on a blackboard

  As my daughter gets ready to wrap up her junior year of high school, I often worry about how she is going to do when she is required to “adult”.  We just had a conversation this morning about how to replace the Social Security card she lost, and while it’s hard to not swoop […]